FTW = Forever Two Wheels

11Mar10

 

 

No intentions on making my blog motorcycle heavy because I know ‘to each their own’ and some just don’t care for being on two wheels.  I do however find it necessary to share with the world the phenomenon known as a motorcycle.

German, yes that’s right GERMAN born Gottlieb Daimler is known to have created the first gas powered motor bike in 1885. Shortly following, many men attempted to perfect the motorized bicycle and most failed at making any sort of income off  it. But then William Harley and the Davidson brothers took a stab at things and in 1903 launched Harley-Davidson Motor Company. But enough history, if you really care then you probably already know.

I’ve always enjoyed tearing things apart and throwing them back together or even just making something out of nothing. I guess I have LEGOS to thank for that, who knows. But before I even started thinking about saving for my first car I would spend hours drooling over the classics parked up at the local cruise in at Krystals. Then when the time came to start seriously considering my first car purchase I had an issue. An issue I think most can relate to… MONEY! Reality struck and I was forced to save for something a little less than my full desire. So yes, I’ve always been a car enthusiast but a few years ago I stumbled across something new, something on two wheels. Now for those of you who know me well, the whole two wheels thing isn’t really in my favor but I can’t help it. Though I do enjoy driving, it is no comparison to riding. I have to say the biggest pay off for me, was buying my first motorcycle knowing it was going to take hours upon hours of work to get it up and running. Sadly my first bike is done and gone, the wrenching ended and I needed a bike, at least for now, that could get me around with no worries. I used the money from my first bike to buy my first classic, a 1967 Ford Galaxie 500, another gas guzzling motor that needs attention, go figure. But I have every intention on finding the perfect motorcycle project to keep things going. My friend and I always joke with each other about how many projects we can get going at once.  So the wrenching continues…

If you get the time, check out some of my favorite custom motorcycle shops… Trust me, these are no Orange County Choppers, HA!

Atomic Customs www.atomiccustom.com

Death Machine Corpse www.deathmachinecorpse.com

Lowbrow Customs  www.lowbrowcustoms.com

Powerplant Choppers  www.powerplantchoppers.com

Check out all the other  links on Dice Magazines webpage!

Oh, and this amazing blog… www.churchofchoppers.blogspot.com



No Responses Yet to “FTW = Forever Two Wheels”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment